Confessions of a self-proclaimed “wine dork”

June 1, 2010 § 2 Comments

My name is Suzanne Watkins, and I’m a wine dork… and proud of it.

I love wine and all things wine related. But more than anything, I love learning about wine.

I think it all started with my Italian great uncle.

“Wine with food,” he’d say to the nine year-old version of me. “It’s our culture.”

He gave me my first sip (though not at nine), and I never looked back. Once I turned 21, winery hopping became my hobby: my swirling, sniffing, sipping past-time of choice.

Mix my love of wine with an insatiable desire to learn (a.k.a. dork), and here I am.

And from here on out, I’ll be bringing you fun facts for fellow wine dorks from behind the scenes at Sunset Hills Vineyard.

Stay tuned…

-Suzanne


§ 2 Responses to Confessions of a self-proclaimed “wine dork”

  • Rosemarie says:

    My grandfather along with my uncles used to make wine in the basement and store it in barrels in the wine cellar in the basement, that used to be my favorite place to play. It was cool and smelled so good– musty and “grapey” makes me smile to think of it. I grew up with a gallon jug under the kitchen- not unheard of for a juice glass with a taste or two of wine to appear by my dinner plate to make swallowing easier. Thanks for triggering a memory.

  • John Tew says:

    The blog is interesting and informative — especially while sipping some of Sunset Hills’ product! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Confessions of a self-proclaimed “wine dork” at Sunset Hills Vineyard.

meta

